Our School Motto
Quisque Pro Omnibus
Each for All

Our Guiding Principle
Excellence is Our Tradition

The Origins of Hauraki Plains College

Hauraki Plains College was first founded to meet the educational needs of the local community as the Hauraki Plains was being opened up for farming settlement. The school began as a one room school with fifteen pupils which became known as The Dog Box.

Orchard School grew to Ngatea District High School and then in 1963 was renamed Hauraki Plains College to signal its status as a Year 9 to 13 secondary school. Since then, Hauraki Plains College has continued to evolve and develop to meet the needs of 21st century learners. Well maintained and expansive facilities are sited on a spacious 9.5 hectare site in Ngatea township beside the Piako River. Most of our 700 students originate from our eleven contributing Primary schools: Ngatea, Turua, Kaihere, Waitakaruru, Kerepehi, Kopuarahi, Kaiaua, Maramarua, Mangatangi, Mangatawhiri and Orere.

While our school is continuing to expand and evolve, we stand for timeless values that will not change. Our school motto, Quisque Pro Omnibus or Each for All reminds us of the importance of showing respect, taking responsibility and considering others in all we do. Our mission statement Excellence is our Tradition declares the importance of always striving to do ones best in every endeavour.

For Further Information
Contact: The Haurakians

Email: Haurakian@haurakiplains.school.nz

  The origins of Hauraki Plains College.